Posted by: wblqueen | December 1, 2007

Open Floor Plan :)

Today, I succumbed to the realization that – sometimes – it’s just not worth it to be a do-it-yourselfer. I spent WEEKS doing demo work by myself on the inside of our home when we first bought it – ripping out lathe and plaster, pulling trim down, demoing ceilings. LONG hours of work, and managed to demo a good portion of the kitchen and back mudroom area. But I killed my back and had a few near death experiences (see “Safety First” entry). Since I live in the city and I don’t have a large contingent of family or friends to draw on to help me long hours on the weekend or evenings, it just didn’t make sense to continue on when I could hire a crew to do the same work – and today I saw why. They ripped our house apart in a day – doing what would’ve probably taken me a month in a matter of 8-10 hours.

Here’s a taste of their handiwork:

Bay Demo

Den View
Open Stair


Responses

  1. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader


Leave a comment

Categories