Posted by: wblqueen | December 1, 2007

Connecting with the Past…

Old CompassOne of the things that the helpless romantic in me has loved about owning this home is knowing that there’s such a strong connection with the past. Today we made a connection – an old compass that we found in the walls. I have no idea how old it is, but finding it felt like uncovering sunken treasure! It’s an old cast iron or steel compass and it still has a solid lead piece in it! We’ll have to do something to remove the rust and bring it back to it’s old form. It’d be awesome if this is just the first treasure we find!

Each time we tear into a wall or talk to someone who knew about our home I find myself eagerly anticipating a new part of the story of this old house. I love trying to uncover the story as we go – almost like an archaeologist slowly, painstakingly dusting off old bones. It gives me great joy to stand around and make guesses about “how it once was”.

And so I also thought it would be fun for you to see a snapshot of what this house “once was” from the outside, as well as some background on a piece of the neighborhood! The house originally had matching window porches on the South & East sides of the home, facing the lake. During a tornado, the turret as well as the South porch were blown off. We’re rebuilding the South porch, but not the turret (I think it was ugly).

Here’s our house as it looked shortly after being built:
Cobb House circa 1900

And here’s a picture of our neighbor’s house – which Cyrus Cobb built for his daughter when she got married.

Cobb's Daughter's House


Responses

  1. I think the 2nd house would be PERFECT for our dear friends, Nathan & Sara.


Leave a comment

Categories